2010 South Australian State Cup

first_imgIt is the first time in over five years that an annual State Cup has been held for Touch Football in South Australia. Touch Football South Australia Business Operations Manager, Tim Wyld, believes it is an exciting time for the sport. “The reintroduction of the State Cup is a big boost for Touch Footy locally. It not only gives social participants a chance to represent their competition, but improves the technical components and pathways of the sport in a big way,” Wyld said. The competition will be fierce on the field with an intriguing blend of both metropolitan and country club teams battling it out to be crowned State Champions.The state’s largest Touch Football competition, City Touch, are raging favourites to take out the crown, with a star studded line up featuring many state players, however they will face stiff competition from the ever threatening Adelaide University Touch Club in both the Men’s and Women’s divisions.The battle to determine country champions is even more interesting with perennial powerhouses Mallee slight favourites ahead of an emerging Mount Gambier outfit keen to impress.Players will also been keen to impress throughout the weekend, with state team selections for the 2011 National Touch League occurring at the event.Players to watch include City Touch’s Kelly Rowe who recently was awarded the Most Valuable Player for the South Australian 18’s Girls team at the National Youth Championships, and her state teammate Sally Gazzard from Mount Gambier who was awarded the South Australian 18’s most improved player.In the Men’s Division, national Alliance Squad Member Michael Frost will be dangerous as will Chris Sainsbury who took out the Most Valuable Player award for the CMI Toyota State League Series earlier in the year.Regardless of this weekend’s results, this event is a win for Touch Football locally and hopefully the start of annual tradition.The State Cup commences at 10.00am on Saturday, 30 October at the City Touch fields on Greenhill Road Eastwood, with the Grand Finals occurring from 1.00pm on Sunday, 31 October. As well as the State Cup, Touch Football South Australia will also be holding its Annual Awards Dinner on Saturday, 30 October. The Awards Dinner is the defining evening where Volunteers, Coaches, Referees, Selectors and Players are presented with their awards in front of their peers.This year’s list is exceptional with many of our grass roots volunteers recognised for their outstanding efforts in developing the sport and providing a platform for the sport to launch into the future.The nominees for the 2010 TFSA Awards are:Volunteer of the YearDamien CarlsonMark JonesGerard TreloarAdministrator of the YearGreg FrostGerard TreloarKildare Rieck ScholarshipAnton Van RensburgMark JonesMadelaine McGintySharlean McNamaraTara NaigeFor more information, please visit Touch Football South Australia’s website and the South Australian State Cup website:www.touchsa.com.au www.sastatecup.mytouchfooty.comlast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *